Monday, May 3, 2021

1. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance (2:220)

President Sharron Davis called the meeting to order at 5:05pm.

2. Oath of Office for New Board Members

Ms. Sharron Davis, re-elected, Ms. Yvette Black and Ms. Carlene Matthews, newly elected members, all took the Official Oath of Office officiated by Mayor Roger Agpawa, City of Markham.

3. Nomination of President Pro Tem

Ms. Kathy Taylor was nominated by Ms. Sharron Davis as the President Pro Tem. On voice vote the following members voted aye: Juanita Jordan, Yvette Black, Joyce Dickerson, Kathy Taylor, Carlene Matthews, Barbara Nettles and Sharron Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

4. Adjourn Sine Die

President Pro Tem Kathy Taylor adjourned Sine Die. On voice vote the following members voted aye: Carlene Matthews, Joyce Dickerson, Kathy Taylor, Yvette Black, Barbara Nettles, Juanita Jordan and Sharron Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

5. Call to Order-President Pro Tem

President Pro Tem Kathy Taylor called the Special Board Meeting to order at 5:35p.m.

6. Roll Call (2:220)

The following members were present: Ms. Juanita Jordan, Ms. Barbara Nettles, Ms. Joyce Dickerson, Ms. Yvette Black, Ms. Sharron Davis, Ms. Carlene Matthews and Ms. Kathy Taylor. Members absent: None.

Also present were: Dr. Kimako Patterson, Superintendent, Dr. Kenneth Scott, Assistant Superintendent, Ms. Julia Veazey, Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Carrie Ablin, Director of Student Services and Ms. Deborah Clayton, Chief School Business Official.

7. Election of Officers

a) Nomination and Election of President- Two Year Term

i. Nominee Barbara Nettles- on voice voted the following members voted aye: Barbara Nettles, Juanita Jordan, Kathy Taylor, and Sharron Davis. Nays: Carlene Matthews, Yvette Black and Joyce Dickerson. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

i. Nominee Joyce Dickerson- on voice vote the following members voted aye: Carlene Matthews, Yvette Black and Joyce Dickerson. Nays: Kathy Taylor, Barbara Nettles, Juanita Jordan, and Sharron Davis. Absent: None.

Motion Not Carried

b) Nomination and Election of President- Two Year Term

i. Nominee Kathy Taylor- on voice vote the following members voted aye: Juanita Jordan, Kathy Taylor, Barbara Nettles, Joyce Dickerson, Yvette Black, Carlene Matthews, and Sharron Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

c) Nomination and Election of Secretary- Two Year Term

i. Nominee Sharron Davis- on voice vote the following members voted aye: Yvette Black, Kathy Taylor, Joyce Dickerson, Carlene Matthews, Juanita Jordan, Barbara Nettles, and Sharron Davis. Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried

8. New Business

Dr. Patterson surveyed the Board for Committee Assignments. Board Members signed up to preside on the following committees for the 2021-2023 period; Curriculum, Instruction and Student Services Committee, Technology Committee, Finance Committee, SPEED Operating Committee, Bremen Township Representative, Southland Chamber of Commerce, SCOPE, and IASB Governing Board.

9. Executive Session (2:200)

N/A

10. Adjournment (2:200)

Ms. Dickerson moved and it was seconded by Ms. Davis to adjourn the May 3, 2021 Special Board Meeting. On voice vote, all members present voted aye: Nays: None. Absent: None.

Motion Carried 5:45p.m.

Submitted by,

Barbara Nettles, President

Sharron Davis, Secretary